Finding my Social Media Personality

This being my second blog I feel I have yet to really define my own social media personality. If someone were to meet me in real life I don’t know if I would come across as any different than I do while on my blog. I did however get to thinking about as I continue on with blogging and twittering, will my social media personality become more defined? Will it be THAT much more different than what I am like in real life? A blog post The Social Roadmap: What Is Your Social Media Personality, by Sam Fiorella questions what actions stand out and shape a social media personality. A great example he uses deals with Twitter. An online post which is suppose to be sarcastic could in fact be taken seriously leaving the viewer to have a different idea of the type of humor and/or personality than the person was aiming for.

Not only can tone be hard to detect, but the frequency of your posts can also be a sign of your personality. Being a newbie at blogging and really using any social media that requires constant updates about my thoughts  and opinions is something I will struggle with to do frequently at first. Will I be judged by my viewers because of this? This is assuming I do in fact have viewers : ). It is true that anyone with access to the internet can blog, tweet, Facebook ect. and put virtually anything out for the public to see. So what makes blogs stand out and show a true personality through an online social media tool? Fiorella encourages and warns online writers to logically think about the impact of your actions before engaging. We must be careful and truly think about what our messages are saying to our viewers and the impressions we are creating.

About ssahagian89

My name is Stephanie Sahagian and I am a senior at the University of Oregon. I am on schedule to graduate this spring term. I am majoring in Journalism with a concentration in PR and a minor in business.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

