Jumpstarting the Job Search

I just recently had lunch with my friend whom is graduated and employed, yes he is one of the lucky ones. He brought up, to my dismay, that I will soon need to find a job too. As if I needed another reminder that the real world is soon approaching. Edward Boches posted Five Ways College Students Can Jumpstart the Job Search which would help any college student with their future.

1. “Use Twitter to establish relationships.” Well, I just made a Twitter account a couple of months ago so I guess I started just in time. I think the advice to follow people and businesses that interest you is a great piece of advice. You can make relationships through following and retweeting statuses that interest you.

2. “Build something (or at least say something).” In my journalism class we recently had a guest speaker tell us that being “searchable” is very important in the business world. For example, if a potential employer were to Google you, what would show up? You want to be able to be found.

3. “Challenge people you respect.” As Boches points out, you can kiss butt all you want, but that probably won’t gain you the respect you want or need to be successful. If you challenge people you respect you are not disrespecting them but showing them that you are paying attention and it shows courage.

4. “Offer your valuable services.” This is one I struggle with as I look at my resume. Is this really ALL I have done in the four years in college? But I have to take a step back and think of what I would have if I never even went to college. This step is to tell all of the insecure that you do have more to offer than you may think.

5. “Write for TheNextGeneration.com”. Yes, he admits this step to be a plug-in but I think the idea is right. Make your writing be found and seen. This will help you become visible to the media world.

About ssahagian89

My name is Stephanie Sahagian and I am a senior at the University of Oregon. I am on schedule to graduate this spring term. I am majoring in Journalism with a concentration in PR and a minor in business.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

